A germ of an idea

Uhh … ew!

The Snail of Happiness

This post is all thanks to Metan over at Buried Words and Bushwa, who commented on my Happiness and Doom post that as well as having a ‘Worm of doubt’ in my teaching tools, I should have a ‘Germ of an idea’. So, here is my prototype:

He’s a sort of generic bacterium, such as you find in diagrams in microbiology text books (here, for example) with a flagellum (tail) and pili (hairs).

Two lovely friends (thank you Sarah and Kate) have offered to send me some eyelash/fur wool so that I can have a go at making Escherichia coli (like these) , which seem to have three of four flagelli and much finer pili than I have managed, and cholera , which appear to have pili on their flagelli.

I’m thinking I could make a whole compost-heap of micro-organisms!

Just tell me if you think…

View original post 6 more words

Leave a Reply

