Make a hat from granny squares!

I’m typing through my tears because The Teenager is playing Cher Lloyd’s “Swagger Jagger” in the living room. My ears might drop off before the end of this post, but I shall soldier on!

It’s rare for me to find a hat design that I would actually wear. I’m a bit fussy. This one, however, is so darling that I’m going to make it and – le gasp – keep it for myself! That’s right! I’m going to crochet something and not give it away!

The pattern is by Lisa Gentry at RedHeart and is available as a pdf download (does everyone know about these? Would anyone like some pointers?). I personally like to wear hats all year round so you could make this with lighter yarn or thread for the Summer, and with something chunkier for the winter. You could also vary colours and even square designs once you’ve mastered the patterns.

Clever idea!

When the patterns asks for an SC, crochet a UK DC. When it asks for a DC, crochet a UK TR.

One thought on “Make a hat from granny squares!

Leave a Reply

