Welcome to UK Crochet Patterns!

I love crochet quite a lot. Even more than Farmville! Gasp! I adore the creativity it sets off in my brain. I spend hours and hours every week searching the Interwebs for new patterns and I’ve noticed that most of them are in US terms.

Now, my own daughter (The Tall One) is half American, so I’ve nothing at all against our cousins across The Pond, but when I was first learning to crochet (just over a year ago!), it took me a while to realise that the UK and the US use different terms for crochet. I worked it out eventually, but it meant I made a mess of a few projects first!

The aim of this blog is to provide you with crochet patterns ONLY in UK terms. Each post will contain just one pattern, properly linked and credited. If it’s my pattern, I’ll say so but as I’ve only written about three, it won’t be many posts :>

I will look for patterns already in UK terms but I’ll also “translate” too. I’ll gladly take suggestions as well.

I do hope this blog does for you what I’m aiming for! I’d love to get your feedback too!

17 thoughts on “Welcome to UK Crochet Patterns!

      • You’re a former Farmville? Same as me. Used to spend lots of time playing farmville and Cafe World. But since last year, I’ve been crocheting & crafting instead. The old stuff.
        By the way thanks for visiting mine.

  1. What a great idea, I teach beginners and spend alot of time encouraging them to only use UK patterns to start with, once they get more confident we spend a bit of time looking at US patterns and sorting out the differences. I’ve ended up making a “translation” sheet so that they have something to refer to as well. I will be sending them your way too now šŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I went from a Farmville addict to a crochet addict (again). I no longer play Farmville though. I’ve been crocheting off and on since I was 9 years old…and I’m “hooked”. Opening my shop was a great way to feed that addiction as well haha!

    I too was thoroughly confused with the UK and US crochet terms being different. I can now follow either without much thought. The only time I have a problem now is when I should probably be sleeping instead of crocheting! šŸ™‚

    Great idea for a blog & looking forward to your posts!

    Reply
  3. I haven’t played FV for a year or so but I still think about it – is that bad? lol. Still, crochet is a far better use of my time. Lets hope no one invents a Crochet Farm game or else I’m doomed. I also didn’t realise SO many other people feel addicted to crochet the way I do – it’s so good for the mind! Welcome and glad you like what we’re trying to do!

    Reply
  4. When I learnt to crochet I learnt in American terms so now I have to keep tlling myself off for writing my patterns in the wrong terms and translate them to UK, however I do have to admit that I find US stitch names actually make more sense to me than UK ones.

    Reply
    • Lol yes, I think it’s easy to get one set of terms in your head. I do find myself confused mid-pattern and have to think about which terms I’m using. I’m opposite to you about what make more sense, though :>>

      Reply
  5. How nice of you to translate American patterns to UK! Feel free to translate my patterns I post on my blog (only 1 right now but I plan to post more). Let me know if you do so I can leave a nice comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

